Ghee, A Better Butter

Ghee, what the heck is it? It is butter that has been simmered to remove moisture and milk solids. Ok, why would I want that? Ghee or clarified butter has the milk solids removed which allows those with lactose intolerances to consume it. But the biggest reason, it’s damn tasty! I really enjoy the rich nutty flavor. Other benefits include; higher smoke point, longer shelf life, and easier to spread. It is also said to; lower cholesterol, clear skin, help with burns, increase weight loss, make you awesome, and gives you a clearer mind. You had me at it makes you AWESOME, now how do I make it? Making ghee is very simple, so simple even a Caveman could do it. Sorry, I know that’s played out, but I could not resist.

1. Get some high quality Butter. I typically use Kerrygold. But this time I used an Organic butter.

20120926-082013.jpg
2. Put 1lb of said butter in a saucepan. I start my on low mine and allow it to come to a boil. Some recipes say to use medium, but if you have the attention span of a Kindergartner like me, you will quickly burn it.

20120926-082442.jpg
3. Once the butter starts to melt it will begin to froth and make a hissing noise. The first time I thought a jet was landing in my kitchen. Don’t worry unless a jet is landing in your kitchen, then be very worried.

20120926-082725.jpg
4. Keep allowing it to simmer/boil. The excess moisture is evaporating. Some recipes say to stir some say don’t. I don’t.
5. Once the foaming stops and it turns golden brown, you will want to keep a close eye on it. The milk solids have fallen to the bottom and they can burn quickly. I usually allow the solids to become light brown before turning off the heat.

20120926-085532.jpg
6. Allow the Ghee to cool for 15 minutes and strain through cheesecloth into a glass container.

20120926-085716.jpg
7. Allow the Ghee to cool completely and put the lid on. The Ghee will solidify in several hours and be ready to use. Ghee can be stored at room temperature up to 3 months or in the fridge for up to 6 months. It rarely lasts longer than a month in my house.

20120926-090058.jpg
Now you are ready to enjoy it on veggies, meats, or whatever you can find to slather this nutty creamy goodness on.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

